When gastronomy is the very heartbeat of the Grand Hôtel-Dieu

More than 800 years after its construction, the Grand Hôtel-Dieu reinvents itself with new contemporary uses, thanks to a Cité project which includes the same values of openness, welcome and sharing.

The theme "health nutrition" echoes the initial role of the building

The Hôtel-Dieu in a context of modernization

It is in this emblematic building, which has always developed its activities around health and innovation, where Rabelais himself practised, that the Cité Internationale de la Gastronomie has decided to open its doors.


Just like this site, which has succeeded in moving with the times and adapting to the political, economic and technological context imposed by the milestones of French history, the Cité Internationale de la Gastronomie is destined to perpetuate this tradition of adaptation through a common value: excellence accessible to everyone, proposing within its walls a varied and changing programme intended for the general public.

An unprecedented cultural project

©ThierryFournier

In order to raise public awareness about good food habits and the pleasures of eating, the Cité Internationale de la Gastronomie project proposed by MagmaCultura focuses on two main subjects: health and nutrition. This common theme can be found in all the spaces of the Cité, a plural cultural centre open to the participation of the public.


In addition to being a benchmark cultural space for the universe of gastronomy, the Cité defines itself as a true innovation and co-creation centre, encouraging encounters, sharing and the creation of projects between entrepreneurs, chefs, artists and all gastronomy stakeholders from here or elsewhere.

A collaborative effort

Contact us

Launched and managed by the metropolis of Lyon, the Cité Internationale de la Gastronomie project has managed to see the light of day and to situate its action in the long term thanks to the partnerships established with the city of Lyon and the state, as well as with the 11 historical patrons who have supported the project since it began: Groupe APICIL, Institut Paul Bocuse, Groupe SEB, Plastic Omnium, Valrhona, EliorGroup, Crédit Agricole, Eiffage, Mérieux Nutriciences, Hi Inov, Metro.


You all form part of the Cité! You too can support the Cité de la Gastronomie. Contact us to associate your image with our different projects or to implement a customized event project.

Your privacy is important to us

Our partners and we use cookies on our website to personalize content and advertising, provide functionalities to social networks, or analyze our traffic. By clicking here you consent to the use of this technology on our website. You can change your mind and personalize your consent whenever you want by going back to this website.

Quand la gastronomie fait battre le cœur du Grand Hôtel-Dieu

Plus de 800 ans après sa construction, le Grand Hôtel-Dieu se réinvente autour de nouveaux usages contemporains, grâce à un projet de Cité qui porte les mêmes valeurs d’ouverture, d’accueil et de partage.

La thématique "nutrition santé" fait écho au rôle initial du bâtiment

Un lieu classé monument historique

C’est dans ce bâtiment emblématique qui a toujours développé ses activités autour de la santé et de l’innovation, où Rabelais lui-même a exercé, que la Cité Internationale de la Gastronomie a décidé d’ouvrir ses portes.


Au même titre que ce lieu qui a su vivre avec son temps et s’adapter au contexte politique, économique et technologique imposé par les grandes étapes de l’histoire de la France, la Cité Internationale de la Gastronomie est vouée à perpétuer cette tradition d’adaptation à travers un valeurs commune : l’excellence accessible à tous, proposant en ses murs une programmation variée et évolutive destinée à tous les publics.


Un projet culturel sans précédent

©ThierryFournier

Afin de sensibiliser le public aux bonnes habitudes alimentaires et aux plaisirs de la table, le projet de Cité Internationale de la Gastronomie proposé par MagmaCultura s'organise autour de deux thématiques : la santé et la nutrition. Ce fil rouge se décline dans tous les espaces de la Cité, centre culturel pluriel et ouvert à la participation des publics.


Au-delà d'un espace culturel de référence pour l'univers gastronomique, la Cité se définit comme un véritable centre d'innovations et de cocréation, encourageant la rencontre, le partage et la création de projets entre entrepreneurs, chefs, artistes et tous les acteurs de la gastronomie d’ici ou d’ailleurs.

Une démarche collective

Contactez-nous

Initié et piloté par la Métropole de Lyon, le projet de Cité Internationale de la Gastronomie a pu voir le jour et inscrire durablement son action grâce aux partenariats montés avec la Ville de Lyon et l'Etat, ainsi qu'avec les onze mécènes historiques qui soutiennent le projet depuis ses débuts : Groupe APICIL, Institut Paul Bocuse, Groupe SEB, Plastic Omnium, Valrhona, EliorGroup, Crédit Agricole, Eiffage, Mérieux Nutriciences, Hi Inov, Metro.


Vous êtes tous une partie de la Cité ! Vous aussi, soutenez la Cité de la Gastronomie. Contactez-nous pour associer votre image à nos différents projets ou pour mettre en place un projet événementiel sur mesure.   

Votre vie privée est importante pour nous

Nos partenaires et nous utilisons des cookies sur notre site Web pour personnaliser le contenu et la publicité, fournir des fonctionnalités aux réseaux sociaux ou analyser notre trafic. En cliquant ici, vous consentez à l'utilisation de cette technologie sur notre site web. Vous pouvez changer d'avis et personnaliser votre consentement quand vous le souhaitez en retournant sur ce site.